And They STILL Call it Puppy Love

And they called it puppy love

Just because we’re in our teens

Tell them all, please tell them it isn’t fair

To take away my only dream

Puppy love-It’s an oldie, but a goldie. Young Donnie Osmond was trying to get the world to understand that his teenage love was just as legitimate as anyone else’s. He didn’t share the length or depth of the relationship, so who knows if he could actually tell if it was love or not? Adolescents aren’t the only ones that struggle with telling the difference. With a divorce rate of over 50%, its’s evident that there’s people of all ages who don’t what that crazy little thing called love (another great oldie) is.

A year ago, I professed my love for my boyfriend at every family event that I went to. I told my family members that we would get married one day because we would be together forever. They found my certainty in my future hilarious. “You really think so?” They asked. The gut wrenching sensation I got after they spoke to me in such a condescending manner was enough to knock me off my feet. I still had pride, which kept me strong, so I answered, “I know so.”

You see, I actually didn’t knowย for sure, and neither did he. We were both smitten with each other and believed in it. We loved each other from week two, but it was a different kind of love. It was puppy love. I saw him as absolutely perfect, as did he. We didn’t know much about each other except that we’ve had an identical sense of humor from the start and share an interest in gaming. We also knew we loved each other, and this sheer fact saved us from some of the knowledge we didn’t already have.

True love is beautiful in its own sick, twisted way. Unlike puppy love, which is smooth and glowing, it has gnarled edges and causes pain. We started learning that slowly as time went on. We began to see the worst of each other from time to time. We started fighting bloody wars. Yet, it only got better from that point. The good days got better. We forged a connection between us that we’ve never shared with anyone else. Even if the worst feels like it’s tearing us apart, there’s absolutely nothing more healing than seeing him smile.

It’s safe to say I’m in love with him after all the time and effort we’ve put into building ourselves up. Getting married isn’t just something we believe in. It’s something we’re seriously thinking about because we can’t imagine life without each other. Last Christmas, my boyfriend flew here to spend it with me. There he was, at the Christmas Eve party with me. I told everyone I was in love with him. They took me as seriously then as they did 365 days before. I don’t need anyone to validate our relationship, but it’d still be nice to be taken seriously once in a while.

AMK

What made you realize that you were (or weren’t) in love? Comment below ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “And They STILL Call it Puppy Love

  1. I have been in a long-distance relationship for the last five years. People told me it wasn’t real than and people tell me still that it is not real love, that it is just a game. I have been called brain-washed, a lunatic, a masochist… you name it.
    Truth is… this is true love. No one can hurt me the way he has and no one can make me feel like I’m flying like he has.
    Listen to yourself only! They don’t know anything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Someone told me that my boyfriend was going to rape me the first time I flew to met him… That may or may not have been my mom. I’ve probably only been through 1/5 of the struggles you’ve been through with long distance relationships, but still, it’s tough for everyone! Things are looking for us because he has a job and can visit me more often ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for visiting again, love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

