What Does the Future Hold?

Want to know how to make a teenager hate you? Ask about their future. It shouldn’t be such a big deal, it’s just a conversation starter. In reality, one question sets of an avalanche of emotions. Stress, disappointment, anger, and sadness are just a few feelings I can name from my personal experiences of the inquisition of the dreaded question. That question has to be the hardest for us to answer because we aren’t always sure what we want, we also know of the uncertainty of life itself, and we feel the need to live up to the expectations of society, and sometimes even our parents.

Being an adolescent means going through a lot of changes in the brain. These drastic changes sometimes even alter the personality- which explains “phases”. Two years ago, I caked on the black eyeliner, listened to My Chemical Romance, and searched depression images on weheartit. I fit the mold of the stereotypical emo kid. I did this because I felt tired of conforming with my peers; I did everything I could think of to be different. This was my teenage rebellion. Even though I now consider myself apart of the bookish crowd, and I want to be an English professor or a writer, the fact that I could change so quickly and decide to do something else discourages me from making a full commitment to my current dream job.

The scariest part is, I have to make this commitment by the end of the year. My junior/senior electives will go towards my future job. What happens if I don’t get accepted into the classes that will help me prepare for college? What will I do if I can’t even make it to college? I’m fifteen, and I know of the curveballs thrown by life. I’ve had to dodge a few already, which isn’t an easy task. This gives me more anxiety about my future because I don’t want to make a wrong decision that I can’t back myself out of. I want make enough money to support myself and a future family. If I get a degree in writing but I can’t find a job anywhere with my degree, I’ll be completely devastated.

Here comes the worst part: say all of my worst case scenarios actually do come true. I won’t be accepted by society. I’d be labeled as a lazy woman living off the government just because I wouldn’t be able to live day to day by myself. I would be an outcast among my current friends that will most likely jobs and money. I wouldn’t have enough money to even afford happiness. I don’t want to be scraping by paycheck to paycheck just because I made one fatal mistake as a sophomore in high school.

For this reason, I think it would be easier if kids just took time to be kids and didn’t worry so much about where their future will be. Obviously, high school is a good time to start thinking about it. But, not knowing every part of the path to the future shouldn’t be a big deal, either. I only have to tell people what I’m absolutely positive about. That’s wanting a nice house in the middle of Bellingham and a cute family, a few cats, and many books living inside of that house. I don’t know exactly what I want to be when I grow up, and that’s perfectly okay.

AMK

2 thoughts on “What Does the Future Hold?

  1. Adults struggle with these same challenges.
    Wisdom gained by 30:
    You can always start over and you will always fail before succeeding. Don’t worry about getting it all right the first time, worry about learning all you can on the way.
    Your passions will change over time. Most people change direction multiple times in the course of their careers, even the most successful ones.
    Everyone needs help. Don’t be afraid to ask for it, but remember to pay it forward.
    If you can’t change the situation you can still change your reaction to it. Sometimes things are just rough, death, work, school, living arrangements, relationships, etc, but you get to choose your perspective.

    I hope any of this helps You are a smart and introspective adolescent. That already puts you a step ahead of the game.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

